Troy’s Letter: August 20, 2011

20 08 2011

Traveling to Illapel...

Hey all,

It was great to hear from everyone!  Just so you all know, my birthday isn’t until next week!  Haha but thanks for the Happy Birthday anyways.  My birthday package got here.  It’ll sit here in the office until I take it home next Saturday.  And about the class schedules, when do I have to sign up by?  If I have to sign up by September or October, it would be nice if you could send me the list of classes to choose from and schedule details.  I’ll find some time on a P-day. I can’t believe that you got my flight information!!  That’s ridiculous…three months away.  Well, I have three more months to dedicate myself completely to the work.  Oh and before I forget again, my drivers license is going to expire the 16th of September.  Is there any way that you could get that updated, Dad?  Could you let me know if there’s any information you need from me?  I’m going to need a new one as soon as possible.

This past week was absolutely ridiculous.  Today is the first day of rest that we’ve had in two weeks.  And it’s going to be an awesome day, because tonight at 7:00 p.m., I’m baptizing Juan Astudillo!!!!  The father of the family of four asked for me to baptize him.  Elder Mace called me last week and let me know.  I freaked out—haha. I can’t wait for it.  It’s going to be the best baptism service ever.  I love this family so much and I’m so excited for them.  I’ll send the photo next week!

So after we finished our three conferences last week, we had interchanges with the zone leaders every day this past week, from last Saturday to yesterday.  Exhausting week…on Wednesday we had interchanges in the north, drove back down to Viña, and then had more interchanges in the morning.  I was dead.  It feels great to be back in Viña again.  I really do love getting to go all over the mission, working with different missionaries, and meeting different members and investigators every day.  I constantly have to be an example because everyone is always watching me now—haha.  Elder Jaquier and I have to be able to adapt to every lesson, because we don’t know these people.  We just jump into their progress and we have to show the missionaries how to teach with the scriptures and by the spirit.  I’ve learned so much this past month about teaching, service, charity, and knowledge.  Great experiences.

When we were in Ovalle, I had time to go visit converts as well!!  I was able to visit Nicole and Luis, the Boyd Family, Margarita, and Guillermo and Vanessa.  Guess what!! Vanessa and Guillermo are going to be sealed in the temple!!!!  Their date to go with the district was the 26th of November, three days after I leave.  They told me that they would move it back a week so I can go too!  Can you believe it?  On my very last week of my mission, I’m going to see their sealing in the Santiago Temple.  I feel like it was yesterday that we reactivated Guillermo and he baptized Vanessa….what a dream.  There’s no better way to end your mission.

Next week will be my last week with Elder Jaquier.  He’s been in the office for six months now, so he’s going to end his mission in the field.  I’ll end my mission by training the next assistant.  I’ll finish my last two changes with him.  I’m really excited.  I already know who it is.  I’ll wait until next week to tell you because no one else in the mission knows yet.  This Thursday we are going to do changes with President Gillespie.  I’m so excited.  We get to see his process of revelation and give suggestions as to where the missionaries should go, whom they should be with, and who should move up to district leader, zone leader, trainer, etc.  It will be an amazing experience.

Well, I love you all.

Elder Teeples

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

