Troy’s Letter: July 23, 2011

31 07 2011

Hi everyone!

Well, I’m just going to assume that you all forgot that my P-Day is now on Saturday—haha.  So, from now on, everyone will have to write before Saturday.

This has been a very interesting week.  My mission is really different now.  On Saturday morning, all of the office elders, Elder Jaquier and I had breakfast with President Gillespie.  It was a goodbye to Elder Blake, the old assistant who left, and to Elder Wall, the old mission financer. French toast!!  It was delicious.  On Monday, Elder Jaquier showed me around the office and explained to me our schedule and everything that we have to do in a typical week.

On Monday night, I got to drive Elder Blake to his new ward in Villa Alemana.  It was about an hour-long drive and I loved every minute of it.  It feels so good to drive again.  Driving in Chile is crazy because the road is filled with taxis and buses.  There’s really no such thing as lanes or turning signals or police officers that pull you over. It’s kind of a free for all—haha.

Driving right next to the sea in Vina del Mar

Tuesday was change day, so that was kind of ridiculous.  We had to help coordinate all of the transfers and drive a bunch of Elders and Sisters to the bus station and back.  At 10:00 a.m., we did a training session for all of the trainers.  The coolest part was that Elder Lloyd, the missionary I trained in Coquimbo, was training!  So I got to teach his training session!!  How cool is that?  We got to meet all of the new missionaries coming in and introduce them to their trainers and everything.  I really enjoyed it.  It was funny because I remember doing the exact same thing when I got to Chile.  Now I was able to see it from the other point of view.  It was a weird feeling.  It brought back lots of memories.

The rest of the week was pretty entertaining as well.  Wednesday, around 4:00am, President called us and told us to go bring an elder in Valparaíso to the hospital.  We had to get dressed, grab the keys, and speed over to pick up the missionary who had appendicitis.  Long morning—haha.  During the week, we planned zone conferences, had training sessions, and did a lot of groundwork for the President.  We also do interchanges with future leaders and district leaders to let President Gillespie know if they are ready to move up or not. I love doing interchanges.  We get to go all over the mission and see all of the sights and meet all kinds of members and investigators.

I’m really enjoying my new assignment.  My companion is great.  Our pension is amazing, and I get to see everything in the mission from a much higher perspective.  Life is good.  I love you all and I’m excited to hear from you next Saturday!

Elder Teeples

…And for the birthday package, it would be good to get some Reses cups!!!  And I always love getting ties–haha.  I really like the skinny ties…not the really skinny ones, but the half-skinny ones.  Classy.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

