Troy’s Letter: February 21, 2011

28 02 2011

Elizabeth's baptism...

Hey family!!!

It was great to hear from all of you like always.  I loved getting the emails from Aunt Shelly, Gabe, Tristan, and Justice as well.  That was awesome.  I bet Savannah is really excited for her trip to Italy.  I’m really jealous.  It would be so cool to be in an exotic foreign country…. hahaha.  And I hope Taryn gets accepted to BYU Provo as well.  I’m sure everything will turn out great.

So this was a pretty awesome week.  The first cool thing that happened is that Elizabeth was baptized!!  It was an awesome service and a lot of people showed up to it.  She was so happy and content and I loved to see the joy that she had.  Elder Urbina baptized her on Saturday and I confirmed her Sunday in church.  Sunday was a little nerve wrecking for me.  I was called to give a talk in church, and of course, President Gillespie showed up to our sacrament meeting—haha.  It turned out really well.  I talked about the importance of the Book of Mormon and a member, afterwards, asked us for a Book of Mormon to hand out to her friend.  I was pretty happy.

I have really enjoyed being a zone leader.  My favorite thing to do is do interchanges with the companionships and help them out with any needs that they have.  One of my favorite interchanges happened this last Friday with Elder Shiller, our new district leader.  They didn’t have any investigators with a baptismal date, so I headed over to their sector and we had an amazing day together.  We taught a couple that they had found the day before and the spirit was so strong in the lesson.  The wife even started crying and saying that they had been waiting for something like this for a long time.  We put the baptismal date for March and they both attended church on Sunday!  It was such an awesome experience.  I love seeing miracles like that.

So we have been working with the Rojas family for a while now.  The mom and kids are recent converts, and now we are working with the dad, Jaír.  The family is from Colombia and they have this crazy cool accent.  I love hearing Colombians talk.  It is my favorite accent of all of Latin America.  But anyways, we have seen miracles with him, too.  We put a baptismal date for March.  The only problem is his work, but I have faith that he will be able to adjust his work to be able to attend church.  We’re really excited for him.

I really like Viña and my comp Elder Urbina.  We have had a great time together and have really enjoyed this change.  I can’t believe how fast time flies by, though.  We are already entering the fourth week of this change!  Sorry this was shorter, but I love you all.  I’m excited to hear from you next week!

Elder Teeples

Oh and by the way, in Ovalle, I bought two suits and left my old dead ones.  I found a great deal for 60 bucks a suit!!!!  So I bought two sweet ones!  One of them is the suit I have in the baptismal picture.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

