Troy’s Letter: January 10, 2011

10 01 2011

Our last zone changes...

Hey all!!

Another absolutely amazing week here in Ovalle, I absolutely love it here now! I don’t even know where to start. Okay, first of all, I love reading John’s emails.  Is there any way you could send me Austin’s letters, too? I’m glad to hear that Austin is having a tough time. When I look back at my mission, I realize that during the tough times I learned the most. I’m sure Austin is learning a ton and the Lord is teaching and molding him to his fullest potential. I really miss both Austin and John, but I know that the three of us are in the right place. I would love to live with them both when we all get back as well. And also—that is so cool that Megan is going to EFY.  She is going to absolutely love it.

Okay, so Ovalle….haha. We are working really hard and seeing miracles as well. Some awesome experiences of the week:

Luis, Nicole, and their mom and sister Anallí all attended church this week.  Luis and Nicole are progressing well and both have their baptismal interviews this Saturday. Barbara, their sister, has a baby that has some sort of leg problem and she was really worried. While we were in the house, we taught her how to pray and she prayed for her baby. The next day, the hospital told her that, at random, she and her baby had been selected and won a free examination and treatment in the hospital in Sarena (the best hospital here in the north). Barbara recognized it as a miracle and an answer to her prayer.  She now wants to be married and baptized.

We have been teaching an investigator named Macarena for the past couple of weeks. She had been progressing really well; she’s been reading and praying.  We had a lot of hope for her. Yesterday, out of the blue, she told us that she didn’t want to continue with the lessons. It came out of nowhere and we were crushed. I promised her as a representative of Jesus Christ that this message was the only source of truth and light, and that by rejecting such an opportunity, it would leave her without the peace and tranquility that she had up until then felt. The spirit testified strongly.  She didn’t know what to say because she knew that I had spoken the truth.  She just didn’t have the courage to continue on and to change her life.  We left the lesson sad for her.  We realized that we loved her and knew what rejecting our message would mean in Macarena’s life.  It was in that moment that I realized that I really do love the Chilean people and I really do desire their salvation.

One of the sweetest miracles that I have seen so far was on Saturday. Elder Arredondo and I left the house so excited to teach and to find. We had been obedient and we were completely stoked.  We knew that we were going to see miracles that day.  We could just feel it. But the day went on and nothing happened.  All of our appointments failed and no one would let us in the house. Even the less actives weren’t home.  We just could not get anything done; our day felt useless. We worked relentlessly all day and by six in the evening, we still had not taught even one lesson. Finally, we stopped and said a prayer and continued. We were walking towards a less active member’s house, when Elder Arredondo told me, “Let’s look here.” Right away I said, “Let’s do it.” The fourth or fifth house we knocked on, we entered and found Margarita. She was so amazingly prepared, it was remarkable. We invited her to be baptized and she accepted right away.  She was so receptive that we put a baptismal date right away, for February 12th. It was an incredible experience.

It’s amazing how the Lord blesses us when we are obedient and excited—when we show our faith. I love the hardest days on the mission.  I am so stoked when things go wrong because I know that there is a miracle that’s coming.

Everything is just so perfect here. I have learned so much and I’m so excited to apply the things I’ve learned in my family, work, callings, and everything. I’m also excited for this week because we have a leadership meeting! On Wednesday and Thursday, I will be going down to Coquimbo to learn from the President and his assistants.  Elder Arredondo has learned so much in his first change.  I absolutely love being his companion.  We have a great time together and many intense talks. It’s going to be weird not having a companion after the mission—haha.

I love you all,
Elder Teeples

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

