Troy’s Letter: October 25, 2010

25 10 2010

Hey family,

It is so good to hear from all of you.  It’s amazing how I feel so much closer to you all even though we have been apart for so long.  It’s amazing how my perspectives on life have changed.  Life is so awesome—haha.  I love every second of it.  I can’t believe how much I love my mission.

This week was an absolutely amazing week.  The conference for the leaders of the north was, amazing.  It was such an incredible opportunity for me to be with, learn with, and practice with the district leaders, zone leaders, assistants, and the president.  I loved the chance I had get to know President Gillespie and his wife on a better level and learn from them.  So the president talked to us all about the importance of listening to the spirit during the lessons and focusing on inspiration after hearing questions and searching for answers.  Many times as missionaries, when we hear a question, we spit out the answer without thinking.  President Gillespie taught us how to pause and wait for impressions of the Spirit before responding.

So we did a lot of practices about listening with love and responding by the spirit.  I practiced a lot with the assistants; I learned so much from them.  There were also times when President Gillespie would sit in on our practices and pose as an investigator.  He gave me some ideas and suggestions that changed my entire mission.  It’s amazing how inspired and full of love our mission president and his wife are. The coolest part of the week was applying what I had learned after the session on Wednesday.  Elder Lloyd and I have been working a lot with a married couple that we found Alex and Gabriela.  Alex, the husband accepted a date for baptism, but Gabriela had never had the same excitement for baptism that Alex had.  So on Wednesday night, we had a lesson with them.  Instead of teaching baptism, baptism,  baptism—like we usually would have done, I asked Gabriela inspired questions.  Upon doing so, we realized that she didn’t really understand what Christ had done for her. So I decided to talk about the atonement.  As we talked about Christ and the atonement, the Spirit entered the home and taught Gabriela.   Her heart changed and as she really understood the atonement, she accepted a baptismal date.

Now she is reading and praying every day and progressing well with her husband, Alex.  They also have a 6-year-old daughter, Javiera.  I love them all so much.  I don’t want to get transferred just so I can stay with this family.  We have accompanied them to church twice now and they both love it.  The only thing that is holding them back is drinking and smoking, but they are both doing well towards overcoming it.

Other good news is that Mauro, Rocío, and Carolina all passed their baptismal interviews!  They are all getting baptized this coming Sunday.  The best part of the whole thing is that Elder Lloyd will be baptizing Mauro!  I’m so glad for him.  It’s such a good experience to baptize in your first change because it just gets you stoked for the rest of your mission.  Elder Lloyd is way stoked and I love seeing his progress and excitement for the mission.  I will be baptizing Rocío and Carolina and I can’t be more excited—haha.

Changes will be kind of weird this week.  We talked with President Gillespie about the changes in the boundaries of the ward. We suggested that we just switch wards (the other companionship and us) so we can stay with our investigators and converts.  So Elder Lloyd and I will be in San Juan now.  Elder Villanes and Elder Boren will be in Sindempart. It will be like opening up a new sector in the middle of the change—haha.

Oh, and by the way, my foot is doing great.  Thanks for all of your prayers and support.  I’m doing ice massages every night now and the swelling has gone almost all the way down.  I’m now walking around without an ace bandage for the first time and it doesn’t hurt me at all anymore.  I’m sure with another week or two of ice massages, it should be 100 percent.

I love you all,

Elder Teeples

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

