Troy’s Letter: August 16, 2010

16 08 2010

Hey family!

Guess what I’m staying in Coquimbo!  I’m so stoked.  Elder Batty and I are staying together again for another change, which should be awesome.  We are starting to work pretty well together now.  Plus I really didn’t want to leave Coquimbo because I love it here.  Elder Romero, from Honduras, one of the four missionaries in our house is leaving.  Elder Hughes, one of my real good friends here in the mish, moved up to senior comp and is training.  I’m pretty stoked for him.  He’s got one change more than I do in the mission.  So this change, it will be Elder Batty, Elder Hughes, and a greenie and me in the pension.  I’m also getting stoked because President Gillespie generally starts moving elders up to senior comp on the seventh change and I’m entering my sixth.  I’m getting pretty excited for next change—haha.

So yesterday Carmen Gloria got baptized!  It was a sweet baptism, and I will be confirming her next Sunday in church.  We’re helping her daughters follow her example now and get baptized as well.  If things go well, we are going to set a baptismal date with the two of them this week.  I absolutely love the members here.  That’s so funny that Camila looked me up on Facebook.  I never even told her my first name—haha.  I’ve gotten pretty close to a lot of the families here and it’s going to be hard to say goodbye to everyone.  The fact that I have another six weeks here is completely awesome.

Like I told you all last week, the entire mission structure is changing now and it is absolutely amazing.  Our zone leaders taught us the new technique for teaching now and it is all completely focused on the spirit.  What we do is start out by asking inspired questions led by the spirit, and from those questions we find out what the people want or what their doubts or fears are.  Once we have an idea of what we need, we teach the doctrine of that specific need or doubt.  It sounds so simple but it changed the way I look at my mission.  Instead of entering a house with a lesson already in mind, everything is led by the spirit and is so much more powerful.  We are teaching people instead of lessons.  The first lesson we taught this week after learning the new method was amazing.  We taught this less active wife and her husband who wants to get baptized.  It’s a very long story but the mom didn’t want anything to do with the church.  We asked inspired questions, though, and found out where she was struggling, and taught the doctrine with the spirit.  The lesson was so powerful that she started crying.  She said it was the first time that she felt the spirit in years.  With this new method of teaching, the mission is going to change forever.  I’m so stoked to learn how to teach better, more powerfully, and more effectively.  

Today was a sweet day.  We had a huge end of the change BBQ with the zone.  We ate completos, hamburgers, baked potatoes, baked beans, and the best part of all, ROOT BEER!  Haha!  The Sexton’s surprised us all with a root beer and it was by far the most delicious thing I’ve tasted in nine months—haha.  Tonight we have a family home evening with a family of the ward and two families that are investigating.  It should be pretty sweet.  Elder Batty is making pancakes.  Well, it was awesome to here from all of you.  I’m going to send some pictures.  I love you all.

Elder Teeples

Nombre: Elder Teeples

Compañero: Elder Batty

Barrio/Rama: Sindempart 

Fecha: 16-8-10  

Esta carta al Presidente debe incluir los temas siguientes: 

En unas palabras, ¿está contento(a) con el progreso de su misión?   

No puedo estar más contento con el progreso de mi misión. Cuando llegué yo, solamente supe que querría trabajar duro y llegar a ser mejor cada día. Durante mi misión he aprendido tanto y ahora estoy apenas empezando a entender cual es mi propósito acá en la misión y acá en el mundo. No cambiaría el conocimiento que he aprendido acá por nada. Cada día veo y reconozco más bendiciones de Dios y como utilizar el espíritu y ser guiado por él. Cuando llegué yo, quise ser lo mejor misionero posible, ahora, quiero llegar a ser un instrumento del Señor, a mí no importa con quién estoy, donde estoy, o qué llamamiento tengo, quiero hacer lo mejor que puedo hacer con lo que he sido dado. A mí me encanta la misión. 

Durante este cambio, ¿qué atributo de su compañero(a)  aprendió Ud. que le beneficiará? 

Elder Batty me ha enseñado como disfrutar la misión. Al principio de este cambio fue difícil para mi adaptar a Elder Batty después de estar con Elder Bohorquez porque son opuestos, pero he disfrutado este cambio más que cualquier otro cambio. Elder Batty me ha enseñado como ser humilde cuando las cosas no pasan perfectamente. Eso me va a beneficiar mucho durante toda la vida. Estoy pero tan animado para estar con él por un cambio más. Yo sé que el Señor quiere que estemos juntos y yo sé que vamos a tener mucho éxito este cambio que viene.  

Durante la semana pasada, ¿qué experiencia le confirmó a Ud. que el Señor está involucrado en la obra? 

Esta semana cambió mi misión completamente. Después del consejo, Elder Wells nos enseñó como utilizar las preguntas inspiradas y como debemos enfocarnos más en el espíritu y las necesidades de los investigadores. Entonces, Elder Batty y yo lo probamos. La primera lección de ese día, fuimos a la casa de una menos activa y su esposo que no es miembro. El quiere bautizarse pero ella no quiere casarse con él y nunca hemos podido tocar el corazón de ella. Envés de enseñar una lección, hicimos preguntas según los susurros del espíritu y encontramos su iceberg y enseñamos la doctrina de sus dudas. El espíritu estuvo muy presente y ella se puso llorar durante la lección, igual que mi compañero y el miembro que llevamos. Cambió mi misión completamente y me dio ganas de aprender trabajar más con el espíritu.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

