Troy’s Letter: July 5, 2010

19 07 2010

Troy's apartment in Coquimbo

Hey family,

I know you are in different states right now, so I’m sending this letter to mom and dad.  I can’t believe that yesterday was the 4th of July.  It seems like just yesterday Joel and I took the 4th of July trip up to Montana.  So I’m sure you know, but the fourth of July means nothing here in Chile.  We kept working just like any other day—haha.  Today is CHANGE DAY.  I can’t believe it but I’m going to be entering in my fifth change.  WOW…so I just looked at the pictures of the mission, and Transito got baptized in Valparaíso!  Elder Suazo and his new comp baptized her!  I’m so happy—wow!  That’s so awesome.

So, during the sacrament meeting, I had the chance to confirm Marcelo a member and confer him with the gift of the Holy Ghost.  I was a little nervous doing it in front of 150 people, but everything turned out well.  Elder Bohorquez got a call last night from President Gillespie and he is moving up to zone leader.  He is going to be in Achupallas with Elder Blood—haha.  He and Elder Blood, my trainer, are going to be zone leaders together.  That’s so awesome and funny for me.  That means that I know that I’m staying here in Coquimbo but I have no idea who my new comp will be.  I’m going to find out at 8 tonight. We have an awesome day planned out.  We’re going to the huge cross today in Coquimbo (you should look it up on the internet), and after we are going to have a huge BBQ with the zone and Elder Sexton and his wife (Senior missionaries from Texas) at 4 p.m.  Then we have our zone class and we find out the changes.

This week was another awesome week.  Spiritual experience of the week: another awesome family that we found.  It was a really cold day and we were having no success at all during the day.  We passed by the house of a member to confirm a lesson with her for later that night.  She invited us to stay in the house and eat dinner with them until the lesson.  Even though we were hungry and cold, we denied the request and told her that we needed to keep working.  Because we were obedient, we were led by the spirit to a street close to hers and began to tract out houses.  The first house we entered, we found Jessica, a young mom and her three kids.  It turns out that her husband, who was away working, is a less active member and she has been searching for the gospel for a while.  We taught them the first lesson and asked Jessica if she wanted to give the closing prayer.  She accepted and started to cry during her prayer.  She told us she knew that it was true and couldn’t deny it.  I know that if we are obedient we are privileged to have the spirit to guide us and testify during the lessons. There are thousands of people here in Chile who are ready to hear the gospel, but the Lord will only lead those who are obedient and prepared to them.

Well we’ve got to head out now and get this awesome day going, but I love you all.  I’m glad that you are having a good time in New York.  Tell everyone hi for me and that I love them…

Elder Teeples

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

